field journal // .09 – the highlands, scotland

IMG_2171IMG_2218
The fun thing about study abroad is that if you find something really cool to do and you can talk your professors into it, it’s possible to cancel school on Friday and instead pack into vans to go see the world. Or the Scottish Highlands, but that’s sort of the same thing to me.

IMG_2198IMG_2176IMG_2187

And so began the most disorganized, detoured, dysfunctional road trip of my life. Which is saying something, seeing that I’ve been on quite a few disorganized road trips back in my youth group days. Even though it wasn’t perfect, or perfectly pleasant at some points, we got to see a lot of cool things, had a lot of laughs, and got home safe at the end of the day. That adds up for a day definitely worth remembering.

IMG_2221IMG_2229IMG_2267IMG_2279IMG_2325

Don’t think we’re slacking off on school, though. Antidisestablishmentarianism. Pseudepigrapha. Anthropomorphism. Big words. Look Mom, college is working, I’m getting smart.

IMG_2347IMG_2383IMG_2397IMG_2398IMG_2407p24IMG_2427

We saw the Stirling Castle, the Fourth Bridge, the Kelpies statues, Loch Ness, and tons of adorable tiny towns and beautiful mountains in between. In what life did I ever picture seeing Loch Ness in person? No life that I pictured. Happy + happy.

IMG_2441IMG_2456

No monster here…

IMG_2447IMG_2499IMG_2524

millennials. smh. 

IMG_2464IMG_2482

I read before coming here that a symptom of culture shock is that you find everything to be absolutely amazing and can’t stop being awed and delighted by it all, which is exactly where I’m at. So I’m second guessing every impulse, because maybe this is just shock, but I really think I do like it here. We’ve already been invited to stay for another year with an internship at a church here and I’d be lying to say I didn’t think about it for a little bit… it’s just fun to be here. Traveling to new places is just gr8.

IMG_2487

Leave a Reply

