Burnt Toast or Ice Cream

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I need a little more distance from some of my recent days to talk about them, but I really wanted to share a word and a song today because it’s speaking truth to my heart. I was given some gems of wisdom a few days ago. A friend told me that I have a choice to choose what to eat for breakfast each morning when I get up, burnt toast or ice cream. She advised me to ask myself “Burnt toast or ice cream today, Casey?” It was a metaphor about choosing a positive perspective, and I’ve been trying to wake up and eat ice cream each day, with the words of Josh Garrel’s song Further On in my heart.

“Farther along we’ll know all about it
Farther along we’ll understand why
Cheer up my brothers, live in the sunshine
We’ll understand this, all by and by.”

So here’s a song of grace and hope for you, if your heart needs these words as much as mine does sometimes. Choosing the sunshine and ice cream, and to enjoy the grace that gives me the freedom to live and love.

Leave a Reply

